On December 6th Kathleen and I were blessed with a beautiful baby girl. Nyla was born 6 pounds 7 ounces, 19.5 inches long. Raja will be working reduced hours the final 2 weeks of December in "Paternaty Leave."
Kathleen's sister Sarah will be helping us out while Kathleen is on Maternaty leave. Saah will be making calls to collect subscription fees. Please welcome Aunti Sarah to the Marijuana Software team!
Now you can buy hardware like Zebra Label Printers, Star Receipt Printers plus labels, receipt paper and more directly from our new OMMPOS Store. Check out our new and improved store here!
Oregon Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 863 into law on April 17, 2017.
SB 863 prohibits marijuana retailers from recording, retaining or transferring information contained on a passport, driver’s license, military identification card or other identification card.
We have updated OMMPOS so that you can make sales to customers without tracking their personal information. We have made our check-in queue optional. You can just jump straight into a sale without having to check-in a customer. You can even create an anonymous membership card to track customer loyalty.
We have added other updates like improved product pricing. Now you can specify the price of your products to include tax. OMMPOS will figure out the rest.
You can also track the weight of your jars when doing inventory audits.
Please give me a call if you have any questions.
Raja (971) 276 - 3371
Switching From Medical Marijuana Dispensary to OLCC Retail?
Tax Rate Changes, New Tax Filing Process Are Coming
The Department of Revenue wants to help the marijuana industry understand the changes in the tax collection process if they convert from operating as an Oregon Health Authority medical marijuana dispensary to a marijuana retailer in the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) regulatory environment.
Different Tax Rates for OHA Dispensaries & OLCC Retailers
Once an OLCC license becomes effective, the taxes you collect on your customers’ purchases of marijuana and marijuana products will change. The "Early Start" rate now in place for medical marijuana dispensaries is 25 percent, but the retailer rate is 17 percent. You should charge your customers the lower 17 percent rate when your OLCC license takes effect.
Filing Tax Returns – Transitioning from Dispensary to Retail
Whether you remain a Medical Marijuana Dispensary or become a Marijuana Retailer you’re still responsible for filing tax returns with the Department of Revenue.
What and how you must file depends on when you transition. If your OLCC retailer license takes effect on October 1, 2016, you should electronically file your first retail tax return for the 4th quarter of 2016 on Revenue Online. You should also file your final return as a dispensary for the 3rd quarter of 2016 using Form OR-581.
If you’re transitioning at the end of 2016 and your final day of sales as a medical marijuana dispensary is December 31, 2016, and your OLCC retail license takes effect on January 1, 2017, you should electronically file your first retail tax return for first quarter 2017 using Revenue Online, and for the dispensary’s operation for the 4th quarter of 2016 file a Form OR-581.
For any other transition scenario, you’ll be required to file two returns for the 4th quarter: one on paper for the 25-percent tax rate and one electronically on Revenue Online for the 17 percent rate.
You will want to keep detailed sales records to track when your tax rate changed, so that you can accurately file reports for the two tax rates.
Please contact the Department of Revenue at marijuanatax.DOR@oregon.gov with any questions.
INFORMATION BULLETIN 2016-24
August 12, 2016
To: Medical Marijuana Dispensaries, Processors, and Interested Parties
From: Oregon Medical Marijuana Program
Subject: Advertising Requirements and Restrictions
The Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) would like to inform all dispensaries, processors, growers and interested parties of advertising requirements and restrictions. These rules apply to all forms of advertising. Rules regarding advertising may be found under OAR 333-008-2070. http://www.healthoregon.org/ommprules
All advertising by a registrant must include the following statements:
A registrant may not have advertising that:
A registrant may not make any deceptive, false, or misleading assertions or statements on any product, any sign, or any document provided to a patient, caregiver, or to an individual.
If a registrant is found to be in violation of any of the advertising rules, OMMP will notify the registrant and specify a reasonable time period for the registrant to remove any sign, display or advertisement. If the sign, display or advertisement is not removed or an advertising issue continues, the registrant will be issued civil penalties of up to $500 a day or may have their registration suspended.
Starting October 1, 2016, all cannabinoid products, concentrates and extracts must be compliant with labeling rules found in OAR 333-007-0010 to 333-007-0100, see also 333-0081200(8) and 333-008-1740(10).
For Dispensaries: Any marijuana items in a dispensary that do not meet the new division 7 labeling requirements on October 1st must be returned to whoever transferred them or the dispensary must dispose of the products. The dispensary must document any returns or disposal of products.
Starting October 1, 2016, all marijuana items, except immature plants and seeds, must be packaged per OLCC packaging rules found in OAR 845-025-7000 to 845-025-7060. Also see OAR 333-008-1200(8) and 333-008-1740(10).
What does this mean?
A dispensary or processor who packages marijuana items for ultimate sale to a consumer, patient, or caregiver must transfer all marijuana items in OLCC approved child-resistant packaging starting October 1, 2016. This includes flower and all other marijuana products but excludes immature plants and seeds. A dispensary may use child-resistant exit packaging to comply with the rules. It is a business decision between the processor and the dispensary regarding who should provide the child-resistant packaging.
A guide is available on the OLCC website that explains the packaging rules in more detail and reviews the pre-approval process. The OLCC opened the packaging pre-approval process on August 2, 2016. Please visit the OLCC website for more information: http://www.oregon.gov/olcc/marijuana/Pages/PackagingLabelingPreApproval.aspx
Early Retail Sales
A dispensary may only participate in early retail sales until December 31, 2016. OAR 333-0081500(5)(6)
What does this mean?
Starting January 1, 2017, an OHA registered medical marijuana dispensary can only sell marijuana items to OMMP patients and caregivers. Sales made to anyone other than registered patients and caregivers will result in enforcement action against the dispensary.
After December 31, 2017, if a dispensary wishes to continue selling marijuana items to adults 21 years of age and older and also to medical marijuana patients and caregivers at the same location, they must be licensed by OLCC. Please visit the OLCC website for information. www.marijuana.oregon.gov
Dispensaries and Food Safety
On and after October 1, 2016, all dispensaries that sell edibles must obtain a food safety license from the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA). OAR 333-008-1200(9)
What does this mean?
In order for a dispensary to apply with ODA, every edible item the dispensary sells must have been made in an ODA approved kitchen. For more information, please contact ODA at 503986-4565 or visit the ODA cannabis website: https://www.oregon.gov/ODA/agriculture/Pages/Cannabis.aspx
Violations and Enforcement
Any registered dispensary, processor, grower, patient or caregiver that is found to be violating any of the rules may be subject to civil penalties and/or have their registration suspended or revoked. OAR 333-008-2180 through 333-008-2200.
All rules related to medical marijuana may be found on the OMMP’s rule page at: www.healthoregon.org/ommprules
October 1, 2016 Compliance Deadline Approaching for Transferring, Labeling, Concentration Limits, Packaging and Testing
The Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) is approaching a compliance deadline of October 1, 2016, for transferring, labeling, setting concentration limits, packaging and testing of marijuana and marijuana products.
The next 60 days serves as a transition period to allow registrants to move into compliance with new rules. All rules related to medical marijuana may be found on the OMMP’s rule page at: www.healthoregon.org/ommprules
Transferring Cannabinoid Products, Concentrates and Extracts
Beginning October 1, 2016, dispensaries may only accept transfers of cannabinoid products, concentrates and extracts from a registered processing site. OAR 333-008-1230(2). On or after October 1, 2016, dispensaries may continue to sell already stocked cannabinoid products, concentrates and extracts that were transferred from unregistered processors to the dispensary prior to October 1, 2016, but the products, concentrates and extracts must meet labeling, concentration limits, packaging and testing rules found in division 7 as outlined below
Starting October 1, 2016, all marijuana items must be sampled and tested according to OAR 333-007-0300 to 333-007-0490 and OAR 333-064-0100 to 333-064-0110. On and after October 1, 2016, any laboratory that tests marijuana items must be accredited by ORELAP and licensed by OLCC. Only accredited and licensed laboratories may sample and test marijuana items. A list of accredited and licensed laboratories will be made available on the OMMP laboratories web page. http://public.health.oregon.gov/DiseasesConditions/ChronicDisease/MedicalMarijuanaProgram /Pages/laboratories.aspx
For Dispensaries: On or after October 1, 2016, a dispensary may continue to sell marijuana items that were not sampled and tested by an accredited and licensed laboratory if: The items are transferred to the dispensary before October 1, 2016; The items comply with the concentration limits, labeling and packaging rules found in division 7 of the rules; and The items are labeled with a label that reads “DOES NOT MEET NEW TESTING REQUIREMENTS” in 12-point font, and in bold, capital letters.
A dispensary will only be allowed to transfer these products to patients, caregivers and consumers until January 1, 2017.
Beginning October 1, 2016, all cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates or extracts must meet the concentration limits as outlined in OAR 333-007-0200 and 333-007-0220. Lowdose cannabinoid edibles sold to retail customers from medical dispensaries during the early start period must continue to meet the definition found in OAR 333-008-1500(1)(k).
All products sold from your dispensary have to have labels compliant with OAR 333-007-0010 to 333-007-0110. The OLCC requires non-generic labels (labels containing your company logo) to be pre-approved before you can use them on your products. OMMPOS produces generic labels that do not require OLCC pre-approval and are automatically complaiant. Use OMMPOS to produce compliant labels with both OHA and OLCC regulations automatically.
Read more: https://services.oregon.gov/olcc/marijuana/Documents/Packaging_Labeling_Presentation.pdf
Here are instructions for how to send the report new report to the OHA:
- Login to OMMPOS
- Click REPORTS
- Under OHA Reports click OMMP Transfers Report
- The Report opens
- Save the report as an excel file by clicking the dropdown arrow next to the Save icon
- Email the downloaded Excel file to OMMP.DispensaryReporting@dhsoha.state.or.us
The Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division is temporarily amending administrative rules in chapter 333, division 7 related to marijuana labeling, serving size and concentration limits. The temporary amendments are to extend the effective date of the labeling and product serving size and concentration limits requirements from April 1, 2016, to June 1, 2016, due to the time needed for dispensaries and producers to adhere to rule changes.
Updates to OAR 333-008